Boo!


Scary (2506597213)
By Marcus Quigmire from Florida, USA (Scary Uploaded by Princess Mérida) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
I have written often in this blog about attempting to be brave and facing my fears. When I think back to childhood, I remember having dreadful nightmares that seemed much worse than any shadows in corners or monsters that could have been hiding under the bed. I frequently yelled, screamed, and talked in my sleep. I learned quickly to forget the dreams that scared me in the dark of night. People say that you only remember bits and pieces of your dreams, but I know that I trained myself not to remember, because those nightmares were vivid and hard to be forgotten. Maybe if I remembered those dreams, I might be Poe’s literary successor (or maybe not).

It’s funny how easy it was to learn to forget my nightmares. It also meant I forgot all the other dreams that came in the night. If we ignore something long enough, like pain or grief, it’s almost like it’s not there. That is, until it jumps up and scares us.

What are you afraid of? How are you held back by what you ignore? What would you confront, like the monster under the bed, with a dose of bravery? What says boo to you? What, with support from friends and family, becomes less scary in the light of day, beneath the clarity of love?

Here are three of my own goblins:

Falling in love again and using my heart. It’s not because I’ve been hurt badly. Those whom I’ve loved have been gentle with my heart. I get too comfortable when I’m alone and it’s easy to observe others from afar, instead of participating fully in life. It’s more difficult to put myself out there. It’s hard to be honest with the object of my crush. It’s scary to put myself into a situation where I will meet someone new.

Being on the cusp of change is scary indeed. I’m in the midst of a few months where I want things to change quite dramatically, in terms of where I live and what I want to do for a living. It’s easy, on the cusp, to revert to same old, same old. I am scared of growth and having to rely more upon myself.

Making an effort. It’s easy to sit and read, it’s more difficult to commit to fitness and freedom. It’s easy to coast by in the simple habits of day-to-day, instead of showing up in the community and sharing myself and my talents.

I realize my fears all have to do with being real, being honest, being me.

How would you help someone facing their fears? How do you support someone confronting their complacency? How do you say, “Boo!”?

Author: Kary Schumpert @runningintolife

I am a composter, an environmental educator, a runner, a writer.

Leave a Reply

